Inspiration from Nature…

Inspiration for drawingInspiration for the drawing ” La Riviere” by Chris LudkeCollage, Mixed MediaThe final drawing: Pastel, Mixed media, Collage by Chris Ludke

La Riviere

Pastel Image 14″ x 17″

My model is La Riviere by Maillol in the sculpture garden at the VMFA.

For the background I went down to the James River at Belle Isle to do a study of the rapids and pick the colors for the water.

I did my underdrawing for the figure in dark reds to warm her up, because she’s made of dark grey lead. And I made the highlights on the figure with greyish blue. I think these colors make her look like she’s in the water with some white foam splashing up on her.

Leave a Reply

