Something to think about…Peeking Through the Layers

I must admit I enjoy Twitter.

The quick exchange of ideas has always fascinated me. Twitter has delivered.

During a break tonight I read this from @OWNViewers. It’s from Oprah’s #Lifeclass Warm-Up #24:

“One of the marks of a great artist is that they reveal layers of their subject and themselves that you normally wouldn’t see. As you experience their art, you will have an understanding of something deeper than you thought was there. I always find some hidden treasure when I look at great art, and it is always a joyful discovery. I make it a point to immerse myself a little deeper than I had intended and see what I discover about the subject and the artist. When I do this, I always reveal some new layer of my own.

Look at a piece of art that has always moved you. Now look a little deeper, try to feel what the artist felt as they looked at that muse. Feel the pulse of energy and excitement that must have buzzed between art and artist and immerse yourself in some of that creative energy and passion. What does that reveal about your creative heart? What did you see and feel?”

When you look at Art…how does it make you feel? What does it make you think about?

Isn’t this the object of true creativity?

Leave a Reply

