drawing at the heron rookery #3

I worked on this step for 2 hours.

Another beautiful day at the river. Plenty of herons all around too.First I tried to correct the sky color. I scrumbled in 2 values of Ultramarine blue over that greenish blue I started with. I just don’t have the right color pastel. I hope it blends together visually, because I’m not blending any more on the sky.Then I used 2 values of burnt umber on the orange and bluegrey colors of the ground on the opposite shore.I saved a spot for a heron in the river, and planned to put in 2 rocks, with charcoal.I also scribbled in some light green for my trees on the little island, and added some more dark green in the background trees. All the trees look weak at this point. Will this picture come out ? I don’t know, but I have to finish it and decide later. Either way, artists, don’t fear failure. It’s a learning process, and every picture is a challenge.

Leave a Reply

