Maymont Park, RVA / lion in the Japanese garden

It’s the 100 year anniversary of the Japanese gardens in Maymont Park. It’s just beautiful there.

This is a collage I’m working on , in pieces. I have a pastel drawing of a stone lion with a stone wall. I need to work on the stones more. And I want to make ivy hanging over the stones. Above the lion is my pastel study of bamboo. I’ll go over the leaves again too , maybe with acrylic. And on the right is a piece of watercolor paper I stretched, and I did a rough acrylic background for bamboo. The paper strips I laid on top are for a fence that will be behind the lion.

I don’t know if you can see how I’m planning to put it all together, with cutting it out and pasting onto my background paper. I’m over half finished, so I’m getting excited now because I think it will work.

Leave a Reply

