Pyrmid / Confederate memorial / Hollywood Cemetery

Hollywood Cemetery is so special, I can’t get it all on the blog. I lived in Richmond for 30 years and always knew it was there. I knew it’s full of history and beautiful sad stone angels, but I didn’t go there. Then when I went in to look at the great view of Richmond and the James River in 06, suddenly inspiration hit me in the head like a fake faith healer, who  struck me in the cemetery too one time . But that’s a story for another time.

First  the cemetery was my inspiration, then it was my refuge. And through it, the cemetery made a better artist out of me. Some people  wondered why I spent so much time drawing there, but I knew I was on the right path.

Some times people talked to me, and I learned a lot. I think out of the cemetery’s history, which is over 150 years, I got more out of it than any other artist.

The gravediggers call me ” the angel lady “.   🙂

Can you see where I stuck a rose in the stones as high as I could reach ?

Thanks to all in our armed forces and our vets.

Leave a Reply

