How long do I have to wait for this to get painted over ?

This can be found on the side of a new condo at the end of Byrd St. close to the heron rookery on the James River. I saw it when he was painting it and thought, another unfortunate child of Picasso. Then when I saw the text painted in, I realized it’s just a 200 year old joke.

 In defense of the James River, let me say that the river isn’t too bad, it’s the canal that gets stagnant in the summer.  I know the joke is old because George Washington came to Richmond to inspect the locks. And the Richmond city council stood him up. That’s how long Richmonders have been complaining about it.  And the dams don’t help the low flow side of Belle Isle either.

 If artists are revealed through their work, what is this artist telling us about himself ? Something about not liking women ? Something about a personal hygiene problem ?  Maybe something to bug the owners of the new condos ? Yeah, real thought provoking .

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Iplt20com
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 15:15:53

    Nice One…..

    Keep Posting Such a nice articles

    MastVid.com

    Reply

    • chris ludke
      Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:57:21

      Thanks, I don’t know what to say, Its so ironic to me , considering how I’ve always disliked computers, and how meaningless my opinion is in the real world. That I kind of enjoy blogging, and that people from all around the world tune in to read about what I love and h8 in the art world. 🙂 yall come back to the sisterhood, ya hear ? !

      Reply

Leave a Reply

