White angel # 2 by Dorothea Rockburn

folded paper

Before I read the plaque, I was looking at this as a decorative geometric shape, and thought it looks sterile . It got no emotional response from me as far as liking it or not liking it.  It’s perfect for the psych ward.

When I saw the title, I thought, awww, I like angels too. But in art school we were told that art is weak if it needs an intellectual explanation.

Reading the plaques about this piece and the Conceptual / Minimalist movement art was boring. Ever since art school, Shelby and I have laughed at art statements that sound important, but really are meaningless. I’ll give you examples, but not today.  I’ll just say , it’s time to move on, art world.

Leave a Reply

