painting @ the James River yesterday & today

Just 1 more trip to the river and I can finish this.

Yesterday I was at the river for 4 hours or so. I made up some new colors with gel medium for glazes on the Sycamore tree on the left. And I worked on the bridges with lighter and darker glazes.

Today I added some greenish to the brown in the river, and some more grey blue in the water . And I added a light green glaze on the river grasses with a pallet knife.

When I got there a little earlier than usual, the river was way sparkly and too bright. When I go back to finish this on Tues. , I want to add some white for sparkles, straight out of the tube. All my other colors have gel medium mixed in. So if I use white without mixing it, and it sits on top of dry glazes, I’m hoping it will be bright as sparkles from the sunlight.

My camera shots aren’t giving the colors like I have them on the painting. I’ll have to take the new oil paintings to the professional photographer to put them on my website.

Leave a Reply

