the Virginia State Seal

sic semper tyrannis / thus always to tyrants

When I came to Richmond in 1976 I worked at a silk screen shop called Art Guild. It’s still in business. We printed these state seals and I kept one from the overrun. It’s always been one of my fvorite things about VA. I like the spirit.  Who wouldn’t like to knock down a tyrant ? But you can’t get away with it in real life. 🙂

A year or so ago I saw on the news that our attorney general wanted to redesign the seal and put a bra on her. I don’t know if he was joking, but they said he was serious. We all laughed at the idea.  Then I never heard anything more about that.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 10 Historical Quotes That We Always Get Wrong | The News Gazette

Leave a Reply

