East Meets West @ Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden

2500 origami cranes

2500 origami cranes

This is hanging in the conservatory. The whole garden is beautiful at night with all the Christmas light displays.

I’m working on a nocturn oil painting of a view of Ginko trees with Japanese lanterns. There’s blue and green lights on the ground around them. It’s a challenge painting in the dark, mixing the colors as its getting darker. But there is some light from the spotlights on the trees . I’ve never tried to paint a nocturn before, so I don’t know if it will work out.  As an artist its important to challenge myself. I don’t know if the other people think I’m crazy to paint outsde in the cold at night.  If it comes out I’ll post it on the blog in a week or two. If not, oh well.

Leave a Reply

