Midnight at the Oasis / scratchboard

midnight at the oasis
I did my pencil study of the camel at the VMFA and transferred it to the scratchboard with white pastel on tracing paper.
It’s a Bactrain Camel from 7th century China, the Tang Dynasty, earthenware.
I used a white clayboard and colored crayons on it, then covered it with India ink. The crayons didn’t stick to the board well.
If someone out there in computerland knows how to make scratchboards, please tell me a better way, because it was fun and I want to do another when I find a good subject.

Leave a Reply

