All Good Things…. Collage

I am taking the Collage 2020 class at The Art Center School and Galleries of Mechanicsburg. 

All Good Things Come To Those Who Wait

“Good Things Come To Those Who Wait” Collage 6″ x 6″

It’s  weekly class meeting every Wednesday at 12:30 pm-2:30 pm.  Our instructor is Sue Marrazzo. I am so enjoying the class. Each week we have a different project to explore. Last week was the Grid layout.

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait is a collage using the grid, also known as the Squares and Rectangles, layout.

I am usually a torn paper person, so I decided to enhance the angular feel by cutting all of my papers. The collage incorporates art papers, postage stamps, ticket stubs, wallpaper, newspaper, dictionary clippings, art tissue paper, and handmade papers.

For the most part, I used Matte Medium to adhere the papers to the 6″ x 6″ canvas substrate. I am not a great lover of the colour green. I did find some beautifully textured green paper in class. I covered it with Iridescent Medium. It then gave me the texture I wanted and toned down the green which I’m really not keen on.

I got the title from my partner, Jewel. She was reading the paper and came across my horoscope. The first line was “Good Things Come To Those Who Wait”. I thought it fit the piece perfectly.

Leave a Reply

