Open the Door !! / graphite pencil

my study of Woman Facing Wall

my study of Woman Facing Wall


This drawing is from a new sculpture at the VMFA.
While I was drawing some ladies came around the corner and were taken aback by this figure.
I said to the guard, ‘ This sculpture will resonate with the ladies because we all felt like that once.”
And one of the ladies said ” Only once?”
The guard said it freaks him out a little.
My photo of the sculpture is below. You have to see it in person to get the full effect.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah Hill
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 10:21:58

    Most men are used to being the key holders.

    Reply

    • chris ludke
      Mar 31, 2013 @ 12:57:41

      hi Sarah, We think alike. It must be a guy on the other side of the door. We know it’s not a kid because she’s naked. We’re both for equality too, so maybe she’s a lesbian and it’s another girl that locked her out ! Do you feel like making up a story for it ?

      Reply

      • Rachel
        Jun 22, 2014 @ 23:02:09

        There’s no door there in real life. The emotion shown is more vulnerability, than being locked away, or at least that’s what I thought it was. In reality there is a blank wall behind her, that’s it, leaving the viewer to make their own story. And she’s supposed to make you feel sort of uncomfortable. If I was good at art at all, I would sit by her all day and take photos of how people react to her, and collect the best ones together. If you haven’t seen her in real life, you absolutely should. I just saw her for the second time today, and was just as mesmerized as I was the first time.

      • chris ludke
        Jun 23, 2014 @ 09:05:24

        I drew the door in to my study for the hell of it. She really does make you feel uncomfortable though, doesn’t she. Is it just a scary mannequin?

Leave a Reply

