Woman Facing Wall by John De Andrea

American 1978

American 1978

The artist made a mold of his model and cast this sculpture. Then he painted her gray with darker gray shadows that he also painted on.
When I was drawing her I heard a lot of people’s surprise when they see her. She’s so realistic they expect her to breath.
The skin color is a little scary. It’s the perfect undead zombie color. I thought she would turn around and come after me with her arms outstretched and saying ” Brains – brains “.
My camera shot warmed up the gray too much. If you want to see the zombie apocalypse happening, go see her in person at the VMFA.

I wonder why ugly mannequins are “art” now. And why is this post getting views.

Leave a Reply

