Varina Davis’ Angel

This is one of my favorites from Hollywood Cemetery.

This is one of my favorites from Hollywood Cemetery.

I drew her about 10 times in ’07 and ’08. It was difficult because her face is always shaded and her eyes are “empty sockets”. I hope you can see from my camera shot the eyes aren’t rounded out. In the center of the eyeball the circle is cut back. It makes the figure look sadder.

The first few times I tried to draw her head it didn’t work. I went to other angels and filled up a sketch book  with head studies. When I had a few that looked ok I went back to this angel and tried again with better results.

Varina was Jefferson Davis’ daughter. The story is that she was in love with a Yankee boy she knew from before the Civil War. Her Dad refused to let her marry the Yankee and she died of a broken heart.

Leave a Reply

