charcoal sketch / Conservatory and Reflecting Pool

charcoal conservatoryAt York Academy of Art we had required classes in linear perspective. I wish I could remember because it’s not easy. I’m not using a camera. I’m trying to improve my drawing skill by eyeballing it. I held up my sketchbook and tried to visualize the lines as if my sketchbook was transparent. Then I looked at the lines I drew on an angle the way you look down the edge of a board to see if it’s warped. Then I used a ruler when I thought my angles were ok. I worked on this sketch a couple hours on different days and made corrections that you can see here in the charcoal. I’m not sure if I got the perspective right but it’s close enough.

Leave a Reply

