sketch of Cold Harbor (earthworks) charcoal

hallowed ground

hallowed ground

It’s beautiful driving in the country around here but there’s not many places to park and draw. The battlegrounds and forts have parking and look safe for an artist to hang around.

I don’t believe in ghosts but being on the battlefield gives me a sense that I’m on hallowed ground. It seems ironic that the scene of so much death now feels peaceful and safe.

I can visualize the battle but I don’t want to draw it. I’ll give my interpretation of the landscape as it looks now.

Leave a Reply

