Cold Harbor Battlefield / oil

battlefield debriefing follows:

battlefield debriefing follows:

This painting shows the battlefield close to the Visitor’s Center and a field of soybeans with Cold Harbor Rd.

I like the texture of the tall weeds and thought the field might get mowed before I could finish my painting. I asked a guy on a mower about it and he didn’t know when the field would be mowed because the park leases the field to a farmer.

When I was almost finished with the painting a lady named Barbara stopped to talk to me. She said “Too bad about the Johnson Grass.” I asked “Johnson Grass?” She told me it’s an invasive species and they’re trying to kill it environmentally.  She said it’s not working, they should just use Round Up. I said I think it’s a beautiful scene anyway. ( It’s funny how often I’m trying to draw weeds or sticks because I’ve always loved the textures and they get pulled out before I’m finished.)

Barbara said she has a much better looking field and invited me to her farm which is attached to the Battlefield National Park. WOW!  that farm is nice! And I’m invited to hang around there and draw! Stay tuned for scenes from Via Farm!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gretchen Getsinger
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 19:38:30

    Really nice painting! I hope you can discourage Barbara from using Roundup.

    Reply

    • chris ludke
      Aug 28, 2013 @ 23:03:12

      Hi Gretchen,
      Thanks.
      I don’t know how to get rid of the invasive species of grass on the battlefield. Barbara is a real country lady. She knows better than I do. I don’t think that field is Barbara’s though. Do you know how to get rid of the grass without Roundup?

      Reply

      • Gretchen Getsinger
        Aug 29, 2013 @ 07:50:50

        People have had good results spraying on a mixture of vinegar and water. There are more natural weedkillers than Roundup

      • chris ludke
        Aug 29, 2013 @ 13:43:10

        thanks for the info. I’ll ask Barbara when she comes back around to talk if vinegar and water is what they tried on it. If so, I can understand why it didn’t work because we had a lot of rain this summer. It seems like a dry summer would make vinegar stronger. I’m not a farmer or even a gardener. I’m guessing.

Leave a Reply

