corn shed / half finished

corn shed half finished

I work from the top of the canvas to the bottom and from the background to the foreground. Every day I sit in the sun and mix my colors on the scene. When I go back the next day I always want to correct some of the colors and values from the previous day before I move on to work the next area. By building up layers of glazes like that and making sure each area of the painting looks good compared to the areas next to it I get something close to what the naked eye sees.

To make the Oak tree on the right look closer than the background trees I mixed different colors and painted with a palette knife. To get depth into a painting the paint should be applied smoothly in the background with the more heavy texture in the foreground.

Leave a Reply

