Strawberry Green at Via Farm / pastel

This was a commissioned drawing.

This was a commissioned drawing.

I drew this freehand without a camera or ruler because I’m challenging myself to improve my drawing skill.

When Barbara asked me to draw her house I wasn’t sure I could do it because the house is big and complicated. The first time I tried to sketch it I stood far back and drew small so I could make it fit on the paper. Barbara showed me some black and white drawings she has of houses. They are done in pen and ink and graphite pencil with the house large and centered. I knew she wanted my drawing to be more about the house and less about the scenery so I moved my easel closer to center front for this drawing. She likes the way it turned out.

It’s nice to hang around on the farm and draw. It’s so peaceful and safe and pretty out there.

Leave a Reply

