Cold Harbor Battlefield / oil

 why Johnny Reb loves me but hates me ;-)


why Johnny Reb loves me but hates me 😉

I’m a damn Yankee and this is the 3rd time I’ve captured the battlefield in broad daylight alone without firing a single shot!

For our readers not familiar with civil war talk, Johnny Reb is what Union soldiers called Confederates. Damn Yankee is someone from up North who moves down South and stays. I never heard of anyone’s feelings getting hurt by those names. You can call the VA. country people rednecks and they don’t care either if it’s not said in anger. And as a damn Yankee I’m accepted here. And since the South lost I tell them they’re all Southern Yankees now.

In this scene you can see some of the earthworks dug as defense for Richmond 150 years ago. The trenches were deep then. Now they’re almost filled in. A friend of mine told me when he was a kid they rode their bikes over the trenches. Now you’re not permitted to even walk over the earthworks in the Battlefield National Parks. In another 150 years they will be gone.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ronnie Hartsoe
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 11:39:53

    So, a “damn Yankee” drove a British Car…that is hard to explain…you do have some beautiful works…Ronnie Hartsoe

    Reply

Leave a Reply

