Japanese Garden @ Lewis Ginter Botanical / oil

japanese gardenWhen I started this painting the tree on the left had a few red leaves hanging on the lower branches. I knew they would drop soon so I had to work fast. By the time I had the background finished and ready to paint the tree the leaves were all down but I saved a space in the underpainting for them and mixed my colors in advance.

For the tall grass I mixed colors and blobbed runny paint on then scratched through it with the back end of my paintbrush to make a texture like grass without painting skinny lines.

Leave a Reply

