Giant Rubber Duck by Florintin Hofman

Duck gets killed 3 times so far.

Duck gets killed 3 times so far.

I wonder what the artist thinks about the duck getting deflated . I looked it up. There’s a lot of stories from different cities that had the duck.  Hofman said, “the duck is a universal symbol of happiness,” as reported on abc.net.au from Sydney. He says,” it’s about us as one big family because we share the oceans around the whole planet. We basically have one big piece of water which is the oceans combined and we have to take good care of it.”

I wonder if the vandals who stabbed or exploded the duck are art critics. Why do they h8 the duck? Most people seem to like the duck from the comments I saw on it.

Will there be another duck? Is the artist too idealistic to think we’re one big happy family all around the world that can share the oceans?

Did they catch the guys who killed the duck? What do those guys say? Stay tuned in 2014. If I get any answers or hear more duck news I’ll post it. Happy New Year.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gretchen Getsinger
    Jan 01, 2014 @ 11:58:31

    Sometimes I wonder if there’s a vandal mentality that propels a person to killing something just because it’s there. I feel sadness that this duck was killed. Will look for further posts. Have a Happy New Year!.

    Reply

    • chris ludke
      Jan 01, 2014 @ 14:27:50

      You might be right about the vandal mentality. Do you think it could be a political reason they ruined it? Maybe they don ‘t want to share their water with art. I wonder if it means something else to those who slashed it.

      Reply

      • Gretchen Getsinger
        Jan 01, 2014 @ 14:51:51

        I guess only time will tell whether the action had some kind of political meaning — maybe someone will confess to having done this for whatever reason. It seems to me that killing the duck was a senseless and barbaric act. I sometimes think we live in a world that contains random acts of kindness as well as random acts of barbarism.

      • chris ludke
        Jan 02, 2014 @ 12:25:34

        It’s sad but true there is random barbarism. I always am asking why the h=ll did that happen and is there some meaning or lesson to learn? If the duck only got destroyed once I’d say it was vandalism too, but since it was attacked 3 times I think the duck is a huge target. I didn’t know the artist’s meaning until I read it in an article. Maybe the duck says something else to some people. Maybe the meaning isn’t understood as the artist wants it to be. Maybe to some people it says “I’m putting this joke in your water and there’s nothing you can do about it.” Maybe the lesson we should learn as artists is to keep the “in your face” art inside the ivory towers. I’m just guessing at this point in time.

Leave a Reply

