underpainting of the marsh at Henricus

underpainting at henricusIt’s a color rough and composition plan. Sketching in some trees helps me get the scale. You can see so much you have to narrow it down. I decide which trees I want to draw and where I want the sky, land and water on the canvas. The dark spots in the water are the gray tint on the canvas I let show through to visualize where I want to arrange the cat tails in the end.  I have to finish the painting before I can paint the cat tails so they can be a focal point on top.

Leave a Reply

