the Heron Rookery at Henricus / charcoal

a link below has a movie clip of the late great Philip Seymour Hoffman's character giving advice to a young writer

a link below has a movie clip of the late great Philip Seymour Hoffman’s character giving advice to a young writer

I saw a few seconds of this clip on the news. The wise words are at the end. Naturally the news didn’t show the pithy part.

I hope this link works. Sorry about my ungood computer skills

News from the art world in Richmond VA.

Art6 on Broad St. closed. The owner of the building wants to convert it into apartments. I was sad to hear it because I liked to enter shows there.

Helene Ruiz worked out a plan to keep her group “The Urban Individualists” together and invited me to join. I’m excited about it! I always thought they were a cool group. When I join a group I usually stay on the edge of it. I’m not sure why. But I feel like my work would be missed if I didn’t participate in this one. I told Helene I was happy to be in with the cool kids and she kind of chuckled but didn’t say if she thinks we’re cool or not. That was on Sat. before Philip Seymour Hoffman died. Then Sarah sent me this link and now I’m not sure  if there’s a chance of coolness or not. Maybe Philip Seymour Hoffman’s character was right about artists being uncool. The last words on the clip remind me of what my friend Dick Clayman said so I think it sounds true.

I’ll post more info on the Urban Individualists as I get it. Our big night in Feb. is the 28th. Gallery 140. at Artworks on Hull St.

come on down!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarahjanethill84
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 10:57:21

    Whoops that link didn’t work. Try this one instead: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WzY2pWrXB_0

    Reply

Leave a Reply

