1st layer of glazes / marsh with ice

1st layer marsh with ice

That “Polar Vortex” must have frozen the ice kind of thick because it was there for days after the temps warmed up.

Water is always a challenge for me because it moves and changes so fast. Usually I work on a painting top to bottom, background to foreground, but with this painting I wanted to get the ice to look right before I spent the time on the rest of it. I knew the ice would melt fast. I also worked on the sky and background trees , but this is just a start. A man asked me what those dark shapes are and I told him I’m saving a space for a strip of land with trees that I didn’t start on yet.

Leave a Reply

