glazes on top of glazes / marsh with ice

glazes on glazes marsh ice

It’s kind of gray around here in the winter when the weathers gloomy but when the sun comes out you see more color.

I’m mixing my colors in plein air every day and when I compare my color to what I see , I think it’s ok so I use it. Then the next time I work on the painting I think, that’s too dark or that’s too light or warm or cool. The first color wasn’t right but it’s not too far off, so when I paint another glaze on top it’s close to what you see.

The naturalistic colors are probably what make people see my work as Realism. It doesn’t really look like this though. If I post a photograph of the scene you won’t see this.

Leave a Reply

