Marsh With Ice and Snow / oil

See the pix below stripping off the layers of paint all the way back to my underpainting

See the pix below stripping off the layers of paint all the way back to my underpainting

“Painting in the couch” works well if you want a variety of textures in your painting. You can do a bleed with oil paint in your glazes. But one thing I enjoy about this technique is the way I can get a long skinny line by scraping the paint with my palette knife. The medium on the canvas wets it a little so the paint has less drag. When I don’t want a bleed I work on the wetter areas first and when the “couch” dries a little I can thin my paint with turp and paint a skinny line without it bleeding and the paint flows nicely. So you can compare the texture of the cat tails to the texture of the trees. It’s fun to make different textures.

Leave a Reply

