marsh with ice and snow / underpainting

marsh with ice underpainting

Before I start painting I mix colors on my palette for the different areas. I always mix black with Burnt Umber and Ultramarine Blue. I need a lot of gray and with this black you can add more blue and make a cool gray or add more brown and make a warm gray. I see black in nature so I use it. I’ve heard some artists say there isn’t any black in nature. Artists, there’s no reason to fear black. It won’t muddy your other colors if you mix it on the palette and use it in glazes. At York Academy of Art we were told to start with darker more transparent glazes and build up the lights on top using more opaque thicker paint on top. The dark glazes will recede and the brighter lights will come forward giving the illusion of depth.

Leave a Reply

