I slipcovered a chair for Sarah

sarahs slipcover
We had so much bad weather this winter it put me in the mood to sew because I couldn’t get out to paint. I told Sarah if she wants me to sew she should get me while I’m on a roll because I might quit sewing when I can go out every day again.
This is Sarah’s boyfriend’s chair. It was handed down a few times through friends and eventually he got it. They have 2 of these chairs. Brian always liked the chairs but Sarah hated the slipcovers on them made out of leopard print fabric. Brian wanted dark fabric. When Sarah and I shopped in NC for fabric I underestimated the yardage. I forgot to add 1.5 yds. for a bias cut for cording. I looked in the Hancock Fabric store in Chesterfield and they had the same fabric as the store in NC. but a slightly lighter gray. So I bought it to cover the cord and I think it looks like a good contrasting cord.
I think Sarah and Brian will both like the chairs with the new slipcovers. It’s nice to cover an old comfortable chair and make it look like new and get more years of use out of it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gretchen Getsinger
    Mar 11, 2014 @ 21:34:04

    Wow! Fabulous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

