sculpture by Nacho Carbonell at the Mint Museum

steel armature, oak and willow branches

steel armature, oak and willow branches


Carbonell is Spanish active in the Netherlands.

I didn’t see the title of this sculpture but if I go back to the Charlotte NC I’ll post it if I can find it.
It’s best if you don’t know the title of a piece or what the artist says about it so you can decide if you like it or not without an explanation.

When I saw it I didn’t like it or dislike it but it surprised me a little. Does it seem a little scary to you? It reminded me of some kind of giant one eyed porcupine monster. Then it also looked like a desk and chair that sprouted branches. I wondered if the artist hates sitting at a desk.

What does it say to you? Do you think it has a meaning? I’m the kind of person that likes to find meaning and sometimes there is no meaning.

Sculpture can be scary, ugly, annoying, whatever. It doesn’t have to be beautiful to be art. I’m not sure why the art world is that way. But I’m also an artist who has made ugly scary sculpture and I had fun with it. At this point in time I’m trying to improve my painting skill in plein air, but some time in the future I might stop painting and do sculpture.

Leave a Reply

