Poe’s Enchanted Garden / my underpainting

problems with linear perspective

problems with linear perspective


I started with a charcoal sketch on my 11 x 14 sketchbook. I’m trying to draw architecture freehand by eyeballing it so my drawing skill will improve. As I’m making corrections on my angles and lines my drawing gets bigger and bigger on the page. I hold out my pencil and try to estimate the proportions but it still goes off. That’s when I know my drawing is out of control.

When I got home and looked at it I thought the perspective wasn’t too far off but it was too crowded on that size page.

Then when I went back to draw it on the 16 x 20 canvas with charcoal it worked out better. Practicing on the smaller sketchbook helped me to visualize it on the canvas.

Leave a Reply

