Poe’s Enchanted Garden / oil

art and magic

art and magic


The flowers are really on the other side of the wall. After I had the architecture under control I thought about the flowers. I thought, “Dang, I’ll have to use my artistic license.” I made a mental note of what type of Bluebells are in Poe’s garden and found the same kind at Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden. I did my color rough at Lewis Ginter and painted the flowers into Poe’s garden where I wanted them.

I’m entering this painting and my graphite pencil drawing of Poe’s portrait at the Poe Museum’s Enchanted Garden art show. The night to go is May 22. They’re having “Unhappy Hour” with live music and a cash bar. It will be fun!

When people see my painting with flowers that aren’t really in that spot they might think I did magic. Sometimes I hear people say art is magic or art is a gift from God. I say, no, it’s not like that. Anyone who wants to take the time to do art can do art. But when I took those flowers from Lewis Ginter and gave them to Poe I didn’t have to ask. It was fun because no one else except artists can get away with it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarahjanethill84
    May 24, 2014 @ 08:13:16

    Mom this one is great! Poe would appreciate the transplanted flowers. Richmond should appreciate you introducing all of its famous monuments to one another.

    Reply

    • chris ludke
      May 24, 2014 @ 08:18:30

      thanks. It seems to be a popular painting. I don’t know if Richmond appreciates my work or not. Compliments are cheap. Let them put their money where their mouth is. Then I’ll feel appreciated. 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

