Amoeba Pillow with mirrors

how to be creative

how to be creative


When an art critic turns up their nose and says “It’s been done before.” you can ignore anything else they say because that person isn’t thinking clearly.

To be creative you have to remember something you learned in the past and combine it with something else. Then you have something new.

I didn’t invent embroidering mirrors on fabric. I didn’t invent using wire and innerfacing to make fabric hold a shape. I only had to find things I like and put them together, then ask “ok, What is this thing I made?” And people think I’m creative but I never invented anything in my life. This is why it’s important to learn from the masters if you want to be a great artist. They can teach you what works. Then you get better results because you have knowledge and experience to draw from.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gretchen Getsinger
    Jul 08, 2014 @ 10:19:07

    I think that copying other artist techniques/styles — whatever — is the best way to learn about oneself as Artist and give back to Art of oneself. Picasso (for one) copied liberally. I also think that the Critic you used as an example is the worst kind of snob. I’ve met a few of those….

    Reply

    • chris ludke
      Jul 08, 2014 @ 10:50:44

      Yep, at York Academy of Art our wise teachers told us “Only steal the good stuff.” hahahaha

      There’s too many snobs in the art world with no chops to back it up.

      Reply

  2. Gretchen Getsinger
    Jul 08, 2014 @ 10:20:26

    P.S. I love your Amoeba pillow!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

