a study of breakers / charcoal and chalk

with a guy surf fishing

with a guy surf fishing

I want to learn to draw the ocean. Water is always a challenge because it moves and changes color with the sky, but I don’t want to trace a photo. I sit there on the beach and stare at the waves and try to draw them. I’m trying to memorize wave anatomy. That’s my excuse. Some guys stand around on the beach for hours surf fishing. They’re not just staring at waves, they’re fishing. Hanging around on the beach staring at waves every day for no reason isn’t always socially acceptable. Unless you’re on vacation, people might call you a beach bum. The calming view of nature makes it a zen thing. In our rush rush modern world the zen effect isn’t appreciated much. We’re expected to be productive every day. With some things the long term benefits aren’t immediately noticed by the world. But if I can practice drawing and painting waves without using a camera my art skill will be much improved.

So far I did about 6 studies of breakers and I did a color rough in oil of breakers too. The more I practice on this, the better I’ll be able to represent waves.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gretchen Getsinger
    Oct 07, 2014 @ 22:39:49

    Studying water and clouds are 2 of my favorite things to study. I think you’re right; it’s a zen thing….

    Your statement makes me chuckle. “Hanging around on the beach staring at waves every day for no reason isn’t always socially acceptable.” That’s why a sketchbook and a drawing tool are a great shield and the best protection from the critical and judgmental.

    I like your sketch and think your study of waves and water is yielding good results.

    Reply

    • chris ludke
      Oct 08, 2014 @ 12:05:55

      Thanks. I’m having a difficult time with water. I wish I knew what I was doing. I’d take a class but then I’d have to do what the teacher said. 😉

      Anyway, for a woman to go out and hang around alone trying to draw and paint there’s always some judgment we have to face. Most of it is encouraging, but sometimes you got to move on if it feels uncomfortable.

      The sketch book does protect you a little for some odd reason.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

