Snow Goose Pool on Assateague Island / oil

It's time for me to say good by, Assateague, you stark raving beauty, you.

It’s time for me to say good by, Assateague, you stark raving beauty, you.

I’ll be back and invade the North shore next time. You can get there from Ocean City MD. too. The Snow Geese aren’t there yet. Egrets are all over the place , and many other types of birds for those who watch.

I got lucky this year because I said I’d take a long vacation all year and didn’t do it until Oct. It turned out to be a good time of year to go there. Yes, I complained about the mosquitoes, but I’ve seen worse. And to be fair to Chincoteague, they do spray for mosquitoes on Chincoteague. I’m pretty sure they don’t spray on Assateague because it’s a National Wildlife Refuge. I’ve been on that island times before when I couldn’t open my car door because the mosquitoes were swarming so thick. After the frost will be better but the wind won’t stop and it might be too cold with the wind later in the year. You can escape the bugs on the beach and the wind keeps the bugs down in the swamp. On the forest trail it’s still toooo many mosquitoes, even in Oct. I used a lot of bug spray with Deet and only got bit about 10 times in over 2 weeks. Mosquitoes will fly for miles to get a taste of my blood because I’m O+ and that’s their favorite flavor. The ones that got a bite of me were the ones that sneaked into my car and waited until I went out without spraying. You might think I’m a little too focused on mosquitoes, but do you ever watch “Monsters Inside Me”? Scary stuff. Plus it’s hard to concentrate when they’re swarming you.

I’ve been so inspired here I could do another 10 paintings. I got 4 finished in 2 weeks which is fast for me. I worked hard, going out in the morning to draw or paint , going back for lunch and cleaning my brushes and palette, then going back out in the afternoon to work on another. Then cleaning my brushes and palette in the evening so it would be ready for the next day. Thanks for the inspiration Assateague.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gretchen Getsinger
    Oct 14, 2014 @ 12:18:11

    Thanks for sharing your vacation and congrats on 2 wonderful & inspiring paintings!

    Reply

    • chris ludke
      Oct 14, 2014 @ 13:42:09

      Thanks! I’m going back to Richmond to move my stuff into another apt. Then I’m heading up to the mountains with my daughter for a week. I’ll get all the new paintings on my website in Nov.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

