The Temptation of St. Anthony / Bosch and follower of Bosch

One or both of these paintings was done by Hieronymus Bosch.

One or both of these paintings was done by Hieronymus Bosch.

IMG_1331

One of the plaques at the museum says the painting was done by a follower of Bosch. I don’t see a signature. I think the bottom painting is the Bosch, and the top one is his follower, but feel free to correct me if I got it wrong.

As soon as I saw them I said to myself “Bosch!” That boat with the naked lady inside a giant cherry is crazy, isn’t it. The plaque says the Medieval view of life was that the world is the Devil’s playground and only faith can save you from it. St. Anthony managed to not give in to the temptations by praying all the time even though there were naked slutty girls all around.

What do you think that one person in the pink dress is carrying on their back? It looks like a potato with legs.

I’ve always been fascinated with Medieval art and history. Just think, all of us with European ancestry had ancestors that survived the Black Plague. Mine were probably hiding in the mountains somewhere.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Gretchen Getsinger
    Nov 05, 2014 @ 16:41:38

    I studied Bosch for awhile many years ago and am still totally fascinated (or repelled) by some of his wonderful images. I think you’re right, the bottom one to me seems to be the Bosch.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

