Elements of Creativity / image from imgur.com

elements of creativity

Creativity is an important issue to artists these days but I don’t feel concerned about being creative or being “original”. It’s so simple when you see it broken down like this.

When an artist “creates” they put themselves into the new thing. That’s self expression. No two artists will come up with the same thing even when they start with the same subject or theme. You can’t stop from putting yourself into the art. The artist will always be revealed in their work.

If an artist is worried about creativity and feels stuck, uninspired or bored with their art they need to simplify their life. Too many distractions or obligations will suck the creative energy out of an artist. If you’re an artist and you aren’t feeling creative, you should make changes in other areas of your life so you can do art. A few little changes adds up to big changes. Can you make the changes? Can you do without the busy lifestyle? Will you be too lonely without the social life? Can you get away from the demands of the career or the demands of family? That’s what you have to do so you can concentrate on art. When your mind is less distracted you get the inspiration so fast you can’t keep up with it.

When Shelby and I graduated from York Academy of Art our teachers had us all write a paper about how we would continue in art. Then we got a lecture from one of our teachers who told us, “You girls will never do art. You will get married, have kids, get a job and art will fall out of your life.” We both brushed it off as stupid then that happened to me. Now, at this point in my life all that is over and art is back. That’s why I can say with certainty, if creativity is a problem you must simplify your life.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gretchen Getsinger
    Dec 10, 2014 @ 17:29:18

    Couldn’t agree more. Years ago, I was inspired by Madeline L’Engle (A Wrinkle in Time and many other books) who gave a talk near where I live. She had a husband, 5 kids and a day job but rearranged her priorities so that she’d have at least an hour a day to write. As a result of her rousing talk, I rearranged my priorities and since I didn’t have a husband and 5 kids, gave myself 2 hours a day. I had to give up being a night owl and get up earlier in the morning so I’d have time to be an artist before I went to my day job.

    Reply

    • chris ludke
      Dec 10, 2014 @ 17:38:25

      I love a Wrinkle in Time too!
      You’re right. It’s about priorities in the end. I only had 1 kid but it’s natural to make the kid your 1st priority. And right to do it, but then art goes on the back burner for 18 years. A lot of that time I got up early to exercise but was too tired to get much art done.

      Reply

  2. sarahjanethill84
    Dec 11, 2014 @ 16:57:19

    That’s why I am a masterpiece! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

