The Poe Museum / photo

one of my favorite places to hang around and paint

one of my favorite places to hang around and paint

It’s at 20th and Main in Richmond VA.

They have a call to artists to paint for a show opening in the end of April titled “Poe’s Enchanted Garden”. They’ll have “unhappy hour” on opening night.  It’s great for me because they let me in free to paint! hahaha I wonder why more plein air artists aren’t taking advantage of it.

This is the scene I’m working on. I drew it without the use of a photo. Now, looking at this photo compared to the painting, I can see my perspective is way off. Maybe it’s the camera perspective that’s off. Or even scarier is, maybe neither my perspective or the camera is correct, and true perspective is something else. How’s that for philosophy?

I still need another week to finish the painting because of the weather.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Peter
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 15:20:13

    Looking forward to seeing…

    Reply

  2. Gretchen Getsinger
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 16:32:10

    Looking forward! Happy painting!

    Reply

  3. loujenhaxmyor
    Apr 05, 2015 @ 01:44:40

    Poe– one of my favorite authors. Have fun with your painting.

    Reply

    • chris ludke
      Apr 05, 2015 @ 08:17:35

      Thanks! I love Poe too! I’m excited about the painting but I’m waiting for them to turn on the water in the fountain to finish it. Durn, they’re calling for rain this week.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

