Poe’s Enchanted Garden ’15 / oil

poes enchanted garden 15

It was a challenge getting this finished for it to dry in time to enter this week. We’ve had so much rainy and cloudy weather, I could only get there to work on it 1 day a week for over a month.

Opening night is April 23 at 6:30 with “Unhappy Hour”.

That wisteria isn’t there. I made it up. They have a small vine started on the other side of the wall, but it’s not blooming yet. I thought the wall needed wisteria because drawing so many geometric lines was difficult and I wanted to give Poe a wisteria vine to contrast the geometric with organic, straight with twisted. I found a vine at Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden and changed it to make it into a nice swag over Poe’s door. That vine isn’t blooming either, so I googled wisteria and faked in those flowers.

I enjoy hanging around at the Poe Museum and I hope I get another chance to paint there next year.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gretchen Getsinger
    Apr 14, 2015 @ 15:38:54

    I like this painting! Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

