Untitled Exquisite Corpse

helene chris ec

I started this Exquisite Corpse and gave it to Helene Ruiz to finish. I covered the board with gold acrylic and collaged the swan. Then I covered half the board that I collaged, except for 1/2″ of my part showing. All Helene could see was the top of the swan’s neck. she had no idea it was a swan, or even which way was up, because I didn’t mark “up”. I also gave her some of the colored paper I used on my half. I was very happy and excited to see how abstract looking it came out! And I realized, if someone gives you an Exquisite Corpse and you don’t know which way is up, you can still finish the corpse by going non directional.

Helene gets to title this one, and keep it or sell it.

Helene doesn’t want me to post too many of the Exquisite Corpses because she doesn’t want me to give away the show, which isn’t scheduled until Sept. She sent me photos of some entries entries she received so far. There’s a lot of really cool ones coming from artists in different states and different countries. Helene probably won’t mind if I show you the ones I had a hand in, because I’m trying to drum up interest in the corpse for more local participation in the show. Also Helene hooked me up with an artist in VCU who finished a corpse I started and is starting one for me to finish. YEA! It’s a fun game and all it takes is a little imagination!

Leave a Reply

