Modifying the fan brush

This is a fan brush.

This is a fan brush.

I wanted to use it to soften edges by drybrushing with it, but I got those arch shapes caused by the edge of the brush. I don’t know how other artists use a fan brush, or if they have the problem of creating arched lines where they don’t want an arch. But I used a scissors and cut that curve back to a straight line. Now it’s great and I use the brush a lot.

Then I got an idea to make another brush for painting lines. It’s difficult to paint evenly spaced straight lines. I want to find a way to do it more easily. So I bought another fan brush to experiment with. It was only $4 and change at Plaza.

Good for more than just painting lips.

Good for more than just painting lips.

I separated the brush into evenly spaced clumps of bristles with a comb then cut out every other section, and  cut the top edge straight.  I might be on to something here. I painted 5 lines at once, and they are ok for the experiment, so I’m going to try it on a painting. I’ll tie those clumps together with a thread and see if it makes a thinner line.

If you are an artist and have tried to paint lines like this or another way, please let me know how it works.

Leave a Reply

