Lucky Strike / oil

Metaphorically speaking, this painting talks too much.

Metaphorically speaking, this painting talks too much.

I painted it in the winter, but saved it till now for my show at the Glen Allen Cultural Art Center in June. I want to invite everyone to come out on June 2 from 6 to 9. They will have a lot of art and performances, food and drinks. It will be fun!

OK. What is it this painting won’t shut up about? The list goes on and on. I’ll tell you some of it. First it was about male and female, earth and sky, what’s timeless. It was about a beautiful view in a historic neighborhood that might be blocked by condos. The condo plan is scrapped for now, as far as I know.

Then it talked about Richmond’s history, the tobacco industry, and now, warehouses being converted into offices and condos. It told me, Richmond will never be invaded from that direction again, because the Indian Cincinnati

This is Cincinnati by Paul Di Pasquale

This is Cincinnati by Paul Di Pasquale

is on the roof guarding us. My view from the hill was to his back.

And before I was finished with the painting, it got on the subject of good guys and bad guys, and the strange conversations I had with them when I was up there working on the painting. Funny, the cop didn’t ask me if I saw the perp, and the perp didn’t ask me if I saw the cop, so I didn’t tell either that the other one was there. It’s too much to type, but if you have the time, I’ll tell the story.

About the Indian, Richmonders will remember seeing him glaring down from the eaves of the Diamond and striking terror into the other teams. Now you can see him from Dock St. I think he looks great up there, but he’s out in the weather.

This is what I remember from high school. Cincinnati was an ancient Greek who got drafted into the army and had to leave home to fight. He was so outstanding in battle that they won every time, and then they wanted to make him king. He said, “No thanks, I’ll go back to my farm.”

Leave a Reply

