Lotus Flower 2nd try / charcoal

What a difference a day makes!

What a difference a day makes!

It was much easier to draw the Lotus this morning than it was yesterday afternoon because I was standing in the shade! Now I know I have to do this painting in the morning.

The flower is tilted away from me in the morning. Also, it’s wide open today. I think it will look better this size on the canvas. ( close to life size)

A lady told me she heard they only bloom for one day. I guess they change so fast, one day they’re opening, the next day they’re in full bloom, and if I go back tomorrow the petals might be drooping.

You should see how the leaves blow around in the wind. They’re moving models! They wave like flags, even folding in half and unfolding again and again.  In the short time I was there doing this sketch the flower moved a lot too.

I can use this sketch for my painting but I’ll make some changes.

Leave a Reply

