Rembrandt

I was so happy to find this painting online.

I was so happy to find this painting online.

It was in a show at the Getty Center titled ” The Promise of Youth; Rembrandts Senses Rediscovered.” They have a great article with some more paintings Rembrandt did when he was young.

The reason I was excited to see it is because I saw it before at the VMFA and tried to sketch it. I was stopped before I finished the sketch by a guard who told me no sketching was allowed. The reason I was told, was because they didn’t have the permission of the owner of the painting. It sounded weird to me because I saw an exhibit of Rembrandts at the High museum a couple years ago that was slam packed with people, and artists were in the crowd trying to sketch. I couldn’t even get close to the ones at the High. At the VMFA, I was alone in the gallery with these small Rembrandts, except for a few visitors. And when they came in, I backed up so as not to hog the Rembrandts. And yet, I was stopped from sketching this in graphite pencil here in Richmond, but there it is online for anyone to lift. I don’t get it.

 

Leave a Reply

