Green Wheat Fields, Auvers by Van Gogh

at the National Gallery in Washington DC.

at the National Gallery in Washington DC.

Hey, Marie, Thanks for sending the image to me!

This is in public view for the 1st time in 50 years. Van Gogh completed it a few weeks before he died in 1890 at age 37. It was in the private collection of the late millionaire Paul Mellon at the VA. home of Paul and Rachel Mellon. Rachel, 103, donated it this year.

It’s large for a  Van Gogh painting  at 2.5 x 3 feet. Everyone talking about it thinks it’s bright and incredibly beautiful! I’m planning on seeing it in person this week!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gretchen Getsinger
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:09:23

    Huge van Gogh fan, here. Thanks for sharing this; it’s exciting and lovely and makes me happy to see that van Gogh had such happiness in the final days of his life as a few paintings from those final days are brooding and sad. Enjoy seeing it for real!

    Reply

    • chris ludke
      Dec 23, 2013 @ 14:38:41

      hi Gretchen,
      Van Gogh is one of Shelby’s and my all time favorite artists too. Isn’t it great to see his joy in nature! Thanks, I think I can get there this week since I have to drive past DC. My daughter and I took the DC Metro into the city before. It’s fun and cheaper then parking in the museum parking deck.

      Reply

Leave a comment