Civil War Soldiers by Ron Tunison / bronze

battlefield debriefing follows

battlefield debriefing follows


I scouted the battlefield at Pamplin Historical Park and National Museum to Civil War Soldiers at Petersburg VA. This sculpture is at the entrance. The bronze is inscribed with the words “My thoughts are with you at home, but my duty lies here with cause and comrads.”

The figure on the left has so much character in his face.

I was talking to a man who works there and he told me Ron Tunison died this past year. He said Tunison had a part as an extra in the “Gettysburg” movie and he had that uniform and beard for the movie.

If you are interested in history this place is a “must see”. Plan on giving it more than 1 day. They have some great old buildings from the era, besides the museum buildings full of history. They have earthworks and trails, reenactments and other educational happenings going all the time.

It’s inspirational. I’m going back when the weather breaks.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Shelby Pizzarro
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 10:35:18

    Great post…very interesting. Chris…can you email me?

    Reply

Leave a comment